Scheme '14 is the annual Scheme and Functional Programming Workshop.



Submissions related to Scheme and functional programming are welcome and encouraged. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Program-development environments, debugging, testing
  • Implementation (interpreters, compilers, tools, benchmarks, etc)
  • Syntax, macros, hygiene
  • Distributed computing, concurrency, parallelism
  • Interoperability with other languages, FFIs
  • Continuations, modules, object systems, types
  • Theory, formal semantics, correctness
  • History, evolution and standardization of Scheme
  • Applications, experience and industrial uses of Scheme
  • Education
  • Scheme pearls (elegant, instructive uses of Scheme)

We also welcome submissions related to dynamic or multiparadigmatic languages and programming techniques.

Submission requirements

Submissions must be in ACM proceedings format, 10-point type. Microsoft Word and LaTeX templates for this format are available at:

Submissions should be in PDF and printable on US Letter.

To encourage authors to submit their best work, this year we are encouraging shorter papers (around 6 pages, excluding references). This is to allow authors to submit longer, revised versions of their papers to archival conferences or journals. Longer papers (10--12 pages) are also acceptable, if the extra space is needed. There is no maximum length limit on submissions, but good submissions will likely be in the range of 6 to 12 pages.

Proceedings will be printed as an Indiana University Technical Report.

Publication of a paper at this workshop is not intended to replace conference or journal publication, and does not preclude re-publication of a more complete or finished version of the paper at some later conference or in a journal.


Workshop Conference Theater, Grand Hyatt Washington, 1000 H Street NW, Washington, DC

After-hours event: Programming Enthusiasts Unite for Great Justice!
Mezzanine Lounge, Capitol City Brewing Company, 1100 New York Ave. NW, Washington, DC


Cisco logo SOIC logo
Program Committee Steering Committee
Michael Adams, University of Utah Will Clinger, Northeastern University
Will Byrd, University of Utah Marc Feeley, Université de Montréal
Stephen Chang, Northeastern University Dan Friedman, Indiana University
John Clements, Cal Poly State University (chair) Olin Shivers, Northeastern University
Chris Earl, University of Utah Mitch Wand, Northeastern University
Kathy Gray, University of Cambridge
Jason Hemann, Indiana University (organizer)
Felix Klock II, Mozilla
Norman Ramsey, Tufts University
Paul Stansifer, Northeastern University
Paul Steckler, San Jose, CA
Mitch Wand, Northeastern University